Home » Holidays » NSE Holidays 2018 | Indian Share Market Holidays List (Updated)

NSE Holidays 2018 | Indian Share Market Holidays List (Updated)

Are you googling for share market holidays in 2018?

Then you are on the right page. Today we are providing the complete list of NSE exchange holidays 2018.

The National Stock Exchange of India Limited (NSE) is the leading stock exchange of India, located in Mumbai.

The NSE was established in 1992 as the first demutualized electronic exchange in the country. NSE was the first exchange in the country to provide a modern, fully automated screen-based electronic trading system which offered the easy trading facility to the investors spread across the length and breadth of the country.

NSE offers trading, clearing and settlement services in equity, equity derivatives, debt and currency derivatives segments. It is the first exchange in India to introduce electronic trading facility thus connecting together the investor base of the entire country.

NSE Holidays 2018 Indian Share Market Holidays List

NSE offers trading and investment in the following segments

Equities

  • Equities
  • Indices
  • Mutual Funds
  • Exchange Traded Funds
  • Initial Public Offerings
  • Security Lending and Borrowing Scheme etc.

Derivatives

  • Equity Derivatives (including Global Indices like CNX 500, Dow Jones and FTSE )
  • Currency Derivatives
  • Interest Rate Futures

Market Timings

Trading on the equities segment takes place on all days of the week (except Saturdays and Sundays and holidays declared by the Exchange in advance). The market timings of the equities segment are:

A) Pre-open session

  • Order entry & modification Open : 09:00 Hrs
  • Order entry & modification Close : 09:08 Hrs*

*with random closure in last one minute. Pre-open order matching starts immediately after the close of pre-open order entry.

B) Regular trading session

  • Normal / Limited Physical Market Open: 09:15 Hrs
  • Normal / Limited Physical Market Close: 15:30 Hrs

Block deal session is held between 09:15 hrs and 09:50 Hrs

C) The Closing Session is held between 15.40 hrs and 16.00 hrs

Note: The Exchange may, however, close the market on days other than the above schedule holidays or may open the market on days originally declared as holidays. The Exchange may also extend, advance or reduce trading hours when it deems fit and necessary.

Check What is Nifty

NSE India Holidays For the Year 2018

Today we are providing stock market holidays list for the year 2018. Check the list of trading holidays for the calendar year 2018 has been announced by NSE.

Trading Holidays For NSE in 2018

Holiday Date Day
Republic Day January 26, 2018 Friday
Mahashivratri February 13, 2018 Tuesday
Holi March 02, 2018 Friday
Mahavir Jayanti March 29, 2018 Thursday
Good Friday March 30, 2018 Friday
Maharashtra Day May 01, 2018 Tuesday
Independence Day August 15, 2018 Wednesday
Bakri ID August 22, 2018 Wednesday
Ganesh Chaturthi September 13, 2018 Thursday
Moharram September 20, 2018 Thursday
Mahatama Gandhi Jayanti October 02, 2018 Tuesday
Dasera October 18, 2018 Thursday
Diwali-Laxmi Pujan* November 07, 2018 Wednesday
Diwali-Balipratipada November 08, 2018 Thursday
Gurunanak Jayanti November 23, 2018 Friday
Christmas December 25, 2018 Tuesday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Wednesday, November 07, 2018. Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Holidays On Saturday/Sunday

Holiday Date Day
Ram Navami March 25, 2018 Sunday
Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14, 2018 Saturday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan ID)* June 16, 2018 Saturday

Holidays For Clearing & Settlement

Holiday Date Day
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti February 19, 2018 Monday
Gudi Padwa March 18, 2018 Sunday
Annual Bank Closing April 01, 2018 Sunday
Parsi New Year August 17, 2018 Friday
Id-e-Milad November 21, 2018 Wednesday

I hope this article will help you to check NSE holidays in 2018.

Still, if you have any doubt regarding these share market holidays then let me know in the comments section.

Also, share this article with your friends who are doing day trading (Intraday) and investing in shares.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *