Home » CA » Languages in India : How Many Languages are Spoken in India

Languages in India : How Many Languages are Spoken in India

How Many Languages in India?. In the previous articles, we have given National Tree of India (Banyan) and How to Open a School in India. Today we are discussing official languages of India. India is a vast country, with a lot of cultural and geographical diversities. This has resulted in a number of different languages spoken across the country. Some of these languages are accepted nationally, while others are accepted as dialects of particular regions. All these languages originated from the great languages of the past, with most of them belonging to several major linguistic families, like Indo-Aryan (spoken by 70% Indians), Dravidian languages (spoken by 22% Indians), Austro-Asiatic languages and Tibeto-Burman linguistic languages

The Indian language is hugely complicated and diverse and has been shaped, like most things in India, by years of cultural variety, regional differences, race, money, religion, and war. The origins of the languages of India bring with them great stories and history which blends in with the wonder and mystery that so makes India so hard to define.

Languages in India : How Many Languages are Spoken in India

About The Indian Language

India is a country of different and contrasting cultures and its linguistic chart is just as diverse. There is no such thing as the ‘Indian language’ as there are 17 (recognized) major regional languages in India, however, the different dialects in India number several hundred and the number of actual spoken languages reach over 2500. Similarities in people’s mother tongues are easy to find making language classification a difficult issue since it is hard to prove which are just dialects of the same language or which make separate languages up.

According to the Constitution of India, there are 22 recognized national languages at the moment. The Eighth Schedule, which contains the official list of the Indian languages, originally included 14 acknowledged languages but since the 71st and the 92nd Amendments, a further 8 were added to this list.

The 22 recognized languages are as follows: Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri (sometimes called Meitei), Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. The official languages of the Union of India are Hindi and English.

Indian States, their Capitals, and Languages

Sr.No State Capital Major Language Spoken Other Language Spoken
1 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Telugu Urdu, Hindi and Tamil
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanager Bengali Nepali, Hindi and Assamese
3 Assam Dispur Assamese Bengali, Hindi, Bodo and Nepali
4 Bihar Patna Hindi Maithili and Urdu
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur Hindi Bengali and Oriya
6 Goa Panaji Konkani Marathi, Hindi and Kannada
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar Gujarati Hindi, Sindhi, Marathi and Urdu
8 Haryana Chandigarh Hindi Punjabi and Urdu
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla Hindi Punjabi and Nepali
11 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)

Jammu (Winter)

Kashmiri Dogri and Hindi
12 Jharkhand Ranchi Hindi Santali, Bengali and Urdu
13 Karnataka Bangalore Kannada Urdu, Telugu, Marathi and Tamil
14 Kerala Trivandrum Malayalam None
15 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Hindi Marathi and Urdu
16 Maharashtra Mumbai Marathi Hindi, Urdu and Gujarati
17 Manipur Imphal Manipuri Nepali, Hindi and Bengali
18 Meghalaya Shillong Bengali Hindi and Nepali
19 Mizoram Aizawl Bengali Hindi and Nepali
20 Nagaland Kohima Bengali Hindi and Nepali
21 Odisha Bhubaneswar Oriya Hindi, Telegu and Santali
22 Punjab Chandigarh Punjabi Hindi
23 Rajasthan Jaipur Hindi Punjabi and Urdu
24 Sikkim Gangtok Nepali Hindi, Bengali
25 Tamil Nadu Chennai Tamil Telugu, Kannada and Urdu
26 Tripura Agartala Bengali Hindi
27 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Hindi Urdu
28 Uttrakhand Dehra Dun Hindi Urdu, Punjabi and Nepali
29 West Bengal Kolkata Bengali Hindi, Santali, Urdu, Nepali

Suggested Articles :

Hope this article will help you to check classical languages of India. Share this article ” Total Languages in India ” to your friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *